Oldham Countian of the Year

Oldham Chamber
honors Jeffries for his work in
promoting local agriculture

He works at Kentucky Farm Bureau

By Don Ward

LA GRANGE, Ky. (November 2011) – Kevin Jeffries is a lifelong resident of Oldham County who has spent his career in farming and helping other farmers through his roles at Oldham County Farm Bureau and Kentucky Farm Bureau. He has also served as chairman of Oldham County Planning and Zoning.

Oldham Countian of the Year

• Must be an employee or own a business located in Oldham County; or the person must live in Oldham County.
• Service to be recognized must have occurred within the last five to seven years.
• Applicant must have made significant contributions to the growth, improvement and overall betterment of Oldham County. These contributions must be made through community service and volunteerism unrelated to the individual's specific job responsibilities.
• Service could be to a specific city, area or neighborhood within Oldham County or for Oldham County in general.

For that, he was honored Oct. 25 by the Oldham Chamber and Economic Development Office as the Oldham Countian of the Year. The award was presented by last year’s winner, Kurt Vezner, during the chamber’s Quarterly Dinner held at Soiree reception facility in La Grange.

Kevin Jefferies and Kurt Vezner

Photo by Don Ward

Kevin Jeffries (right) is presented
the Oldham Countian of the Year award
Oct. 25 by last year’s winner, Kurt Vezner.

Jeffries is the 47th honoree of the award, which recognizes an individual for his dedication and loyalty to Oldham County. The Oldham Countian of the Year is a long-time tradition that recognizes an Oldham County business or community leader for service to Oldham County above and beyond their daily responsibilities or their commitment as an average citizen.

Oldham Countians
of the Year Past Winners

2011 Kevin Jeffries
2010 Kurt Vezner
2009 Dennis Johnson
2008 Gary Haupt
2007 Joe McWilliams
2006 George Parrish
2005 Lambert Franklin
2004 Fran Scott
2003 Barry & Bobbie Stoess
2002 Mary Broecker
2001 Kevin Eldridge
2000 W. Blake Haselton
1999 Jonathan Westbrook
1998 Joan Bryant
1997 Jim Zimmerman
1996 Bill Howard
1995 Steve Shultz
1994 Charles "Dee" Kelley
1993 Eddy Barber
1992 Robert A. Reid
1991 Dianne Earing
1990 Lee Clore
1989 Harold Smith
1988 Jim Hannah
1987 Dennis Deibel
1986 Gene Armstrong
1985 Bruce Hamilton
1984 A.L. Meacham
1983 Edward G. Houchin
1982 Howard Mahan
1981 Vivian Renhardt
1980 Dennis Fritz
1979 Robert Arvin
1978 Wendell Moore
1977 Arvel McMahan
1976 George F. Williamson
1975 Jim Chambers
1974 James A. Hall
1973 Richard Beard
1972 J.T. Walsh, M.D.
1971 Clayton Stoess Sr.
1970 Richard Radcliffe
1969 Charles F. Lambert
1968 Hiram Taylor
1967 Clyde Taylor
1966 Joe Tom Clifton
1965 Alton Ross
1964 Milton C. Stoess

The chamber attempts to keep the name a secret until the dinner and succeeded in surprising Jeffries. “I have never been as surprised as I was tonight,” he said in accepting the award. “I thought we were roasting someone else. I am shocked and truly honored.”
A video of friends and family members talking about Jeffries and his accomplishments was shown to the audience. Magistrate Steve Greenwell and also a farmer was among those on the video as was former Judge-Executive Duane Murner.
“Each year this event amazes me, “ said Deana Epperly Karem, executive director of the Oldham County Chamber. “We received more than 10 nominations for this honor for the third year in a row. This year, our honoree is someone that is not in the mainstream of politics, business or Chamber work. The honoree is a lifelong Oldham Countian with a passion for this community that is deeply ingrained in all that they do and stand for. It is a title well deserved.”
Several past Oldham Countians of the Year attended the dinner. These included Mary Broecker, Kevin Eldridge, Fran Scott, Bill Howard, Barry and Bobbie Stoess.

Back to November 2011 Articles.



Copyright 1999-2015, Kentuckiana Publishing, Inc.

Pick-Up Locations Subscribe Staff Advertise Contact Submit A Story Our Advertisers Columnists Archive Area Links Area Events Search our Site Home Monthly Articles Calendar of Events Kentucky Speedway Madison Chautauqua Madison Ribberfest Madison Regatta