'5 Under 40' Awards

Madison’s young professionals
recognized at EDP meeting

State of economic
development in local area discussed

By Don Ward

(February 2012) – Founded in 2009, the Madison Future Young Professionals group has continued to grow in size and the number of activities for its approximately 50 active members. The group is part of the Madison Area Chamber of Commerce and was created specifically to encourage and promote business networking and leadership opportunities among those age 40 and under.

5 Under 40 Winners

Photo by Don Ward

This year’s “5 Under 40” winners as
selected by Madison Future Young
Professionals, sponsored by the
Madison Area Chamber of Commerce,
are (from left) Josh Webb, Pat
McGrath, Kande McKay, Heather
Foy and Aaron Kelsey.

On Jan. 23, the group presented its second annual “5 Under 40” business civic and leadership awards during the annual meeting of the county’s economic development organzation, Economic Development Partners of Jefferson County. This year’s winners were:
n Heather Foy, owner and coach of the Fit For The King Flyers All Star Dance program (which includes approximately 50 young girls from the area). She is also former president of Tri Kappa Sorority and the group class coordinator and instructor at Fit For The King. She also serves on the Jefferson County Police Merit Board.
n Aaron Kelsey, art teacher and Theatre Director at Madison Consolidated High School. Kelsey shares his love of the arts with the community as an actor in community theatre productions and at his church. His works of art can be seen in downtown shops. He serves as a board member to several organizations in town including the Madison Consolidated Schools Educational Foundation and the Little Grand Theatre Co.

Past Madison Future
YP “5 Under 40”
Award Winners 2011:

• Shannon Dattilo, Southwestern Elementary School teacher
• Molly Dodge, River Valley Resources
• Andy Lytle, Microdome Computers
• Joe Jenner, attorney with Jenner, Auxier & Patterson
• Carl Risk, then with King’s Daughters’ Hospital & Health

2012 EDP Board Members

Gary Kennon, Ken Ward, Roger Allman, Don Heiderman, Dan Baughman, Julie Berry, Dwayne Cole, Matt Forrester, Bill Hensler, Margaret Siefert, Tony Waltz, Damon Welch, Kevin Kellems and two emeritus members, Al Huntington and John Eckert.

• Pat McGrath, a partner with Alcorn Goering & Sage law firm. He has served as a public defender for Jefferson and Switzerland counties. He also represents the Jefferson County Board of Zoning Appeals. He is a board member for Voices for Children and is a big brother for the Jefferson county Big Brother/Big Sister program.
• Kande McKay, journalism teacher and is also responsible for the AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination) program, which promotes accelerated learning, at Madison Consolidated High School. She has served as president of the Indiana High School Press Association.
• Josh Webb, a funeral director at the Morgan & Nay Funeral Centre in Madison. He is a member of the Indiana Funeral Directors Association. He is also involved in several community organizations, including Pi Sigma Eta fraternity, Habitat for Humanity, Trinity United Methodist Church, the Republican Party and Pathways Learning Center.
Madison Future YP co-chair Casey Goode also presented an appreciation award to Jenny Eggenspiller for her part in creating the award series. Until recently, Eggenspiller worked as an assistant to former Madison Mayor Tim Armstrong, who failed to win re-election last November. Jake Stuart serves as the group’s other co-chair this year.
The award ceremony also included one presented by EDP Executive Director Corey Murphy to Jefferson County Commissioner Julie Berry as the “John Paul – Friend of Economic Development Award.” Berry was praised for her leadership and determination i• Overseeing the rebuilding efforts in the wake of the May 20, 2009, Jefferson County Courthouse fire. Berry earlier was honored statewide as the recipient of the Indiana Commissioner of the Year, presented in September 2011 by the Indiana Association of County Commissioners.
Berry is the third recipient of the “Friends” award. Previous winners are Ann Grahn (now deceased) and Arvin Sango Inc.

Julie Berry

Photo by Don Ward

EDP Executive
Director Corey Murphy
presents the Economic
Development Award
to Jefferson County
Commissioner Julie Berry.

EDP’s annual meeting and report to the community drew a large crowd of corporate, business and goverment leaders to The Livery Stable in downtown Madison. Murphy presented his report, citing several ongoing expansion projects in the county, including those at I.K.E.C., Grote Industries and Madison Precision Products. In 2008, the organization, formerly known as MIDCOR (Madison-Jefferson County Industrial Development Corp.) underwent a reorganization and name change to EDP. As for 2012, Murphy cited the organization’s targeted four areas of improvement as: business retention and expansion; development marketing; accelerated business park and visitor attractions; and leadership and collaboration.
He said that in 2012 EDP plans to join the Chamber in redesiging and launching a new, merged website to better reflect the marriage of the two entities that took place last year. Murphy moved in the Chamber office at 301 E. Main St. and shares the administrative staff of the Chamber. But the two organizations’ boards and budgets and missions remain separate.

• For more information on these organizations, visit: www.MadisonFuture.com or EDP’s website: www.LocateInMadison.com.

Back to February 2012 Articles.



Copyright 1999-2015, Kentuckiana Publishing, Inc.

Pick-Up Locations Subscribe Staff Advertise Contact Submit A Story Our Advertisers Columnists Archive Area Links Area Events Search our Site Home Monthly Articles Calendar of Events Kentucky Speedway Madison Chautauqua Madison Ribberfest Madison Regatta